GEAR REVIEW: Marmot Minimalist Jacket is a Girl’s Best Friend

20 Dec

Well, it’s official. I have a favorite outdoor item. And the best part is, it is not relegated to weekends, hiking, or backpacking situations as many specialty outdoor gear items are. It’s a rain jacket, plain and simple. The Marmot Minimalist for Women is now among my prized possessions—in “recycling bin blue” for me, of course (they call it Cobalt).

Summit of Madison, White Mts, New Hampshire

Summit of Madison, White Mts, New Hampshire

Last summer we trekked the Presidential Traverse in New Hampshire’s (gorgeous) White Mountains. It was a unique hike, a fun challenge and one of our first times out using a bunch of new gear. My newest acquisition at the time was this jacket, which I’d researched a bit before buying, but ultimately picked because of a trip to REI to try on some options. I’ve been obsessed since. Here’s the breakdown.

Gear Specs & Features (per Marmot site)

Center Back Length: 27.25in / 69.2cm

Overall Weight: 14.4 oz / 408.2 g

Main Material: GORE-TEX® Products with Paclite® Technology 100% Polyester 3.6 oz/yd

  • 100% Seam Taped – For Full Waterproofness
  • PitZips™ – Underarm Zip That Extends Into the Body for Aggressive Venting
  • Attached Adjustable Hood – full range of adjustability for weather protection
  • Zippered Hand Pockets
  • Storm Flap over Zipper with Snap/Velcro® Closure
  • Elastic Draw Cord Hem – Adjustability in Serious Weather
  • DriClime® Lined Chin Guard – Moisture Wicking Fabric Protects Your Face From the Zipper
  • Angel-Wing Movement™ – Allows Full Range of Motion in Arms so Jacket Doesn’t Ride Up

WHFF Gear Rating (out of 5 boots) 

Slide1


Notes: 

I researched this jacket online seeking a jacket with breathability, as all other waterproof options I currently own are saunas if you even think about exerting yourself while wearing them. I stalked online ratings and the Minimalist repeatedly received glowing reviews. I headed to REI to try this (and other) jackets on, and the second I put it on, I was in love. The inside of the jacket has a softer feel than the typical rubbery coating of a waterproof shell. I credit this to the GoreTex/PacLite combo. The other main reason for my purchase was the fit. The jacket looked better on me than any I’d owned before, or any other I tried in the store that day. It’s fitted for a woman, and I specifically noticed what they list on their online description, the “Angel-Wing Movement™”.  I really was able to flail my arms in every direction (awkwardly simulating the range of motion I’d need in a scramble) without the jacket riding up or exposing my torso. It feels great on, is streamlined, has a great fitted hood, and I love the color. And the best bonus feature (as I didn’t go in search of this specifically) is how lightweight and packable this product is. It folds into a neat tiny package and is an easy carry on long hikes where you may encounter changing conditions.

Now, having worn the jacket backpacking, around town in summer/fall/winter (with fleece underneath), I can say it is well worth the $200 I paid. BB recommended!!

 

photo (9)

photo (10)

What do you think?

