Cozy Outdoorsy Decor

22 Jan

Screen Shot 2013-01-22 at 5.44.42 PM

Just came across this article on Outside highlighting Hudson Bay wool, which led me to one of the best Pinterest boards I’ve seen yet…all singing the praises of a home decor style statement I fell in love with a while back, and was able to snag for my own place a few months back. I knew then I was a trendsetter!

photo (4)

20130122-194430.jpg
I spotted this older, but beautiful 8-point Hudson Bay wool blanket outside an antique warehouse a while back. My dad was in town, we heard the old building had been condemned and all the merchandise was being moved out. As a result, they were selling EVERYTHING and we made offers left and right on butcher blocks, old war propaganda prints, antique fireman’s buckets, bible boxes and chests of all sizes. We came home with lots of gems at amazing deals, but this was by FAR my prize find of the day. It was in great condition, save for a small hole that had been hand mended (adding to the charm!). To me, it’s the perfect mixture of modern appeal and old time country/outdoorsy charm.

I love anything with a history.

You’ll rarely find something in my home that hasn’t had a life before it reaches me.

Per Wikipedia (and other more trusted sources):

In the North American fur trade, point blankets were one of the main European items sought by native peoples in exchange for beaver pelts, buffalo robes, pemmican, moccasins, and other trade goods. They were desired because of wool’s ability to hold heat even when wet, and because they were easier to sew than bison or deer skins. Wool cloth of one kind or another was traded as far back as the French regime in North America (1500-1765), but HBC point blankets were introduced in 1780 to compete with similar blankets offered by the Montreal-based private traders.[1] The blankets were often produced with a green stripe, red stripe, yellow stripe and indigo stripe on a white background; the four stripe colours were popular and easily produced using good colourfast dyes at that time.[2]

photo (5)

This blanket does double duty by lookin’ good AND adding some serious warmth to winter bedding. This week has been very chilly and I’m loving it! Clearly, so is the Duchess. Best part was, for something that seems to be easily fetching hundreds new and even more vintage, I paid $45. That’s what I’m talkin’ about.

Now I’m keeping my eyes peeled for vintage wool goods for our family cabin in the ‘Dacks. Might have to make myself one of these next, for long snowshoe treks up there in the mountains? The original Smart Wool!

Capote

Screen Shot 2013-01-18 at 9.15.16 PM

What do you think?

