Wrap V-Day Gifts with Garbage! (kinda)

13 Feb

photo 3

Here’s my last minute fix for a quick, green, cheap solution to wrapping Valentine (or any) gifts. I had a small box to wrap for HT, so I knew I wanted a rustic, manly wrapping style. AND, I had everything I needed right in my trusty blue bin.

What I used:

  • Trader Joe’s brown paper shopping bags
  • Trader Joe’s Roasted Veggie Pizza box
  • rustic twine

And it’s easy!

1. Cut the bag along the seams to make a flat piece big enough to wrap around your gift.

2. Wrap the gift, paper inside out if you prefer plain brown. I loved the idea of an explorer peeking around the edge of my box, so I wrapped printed side out.

3. Tie the twine in a manly bow.

4. Cut a heart or other shaped tag from a relatively uncluttered section of the pizza (or other) box. I liked the printed pizza ingredients, ’cause the text is small so I can write on the tag in black sharpie on top, but here, mostly because of the red color.

5. Tie the heart tag on with twine. I made a small hole with the point of my scissors, as I don’t have a hole punch.

Voila! Manly gift wrap, repurposed and post-unwrapping, all recyclable.

photo 5

And…the card. I am usually a big fan of homemade, but this one, I had to have.

photo 1
photo 2

Happy V-Day!

Can’t wait to hike off all the sweets…

Screen Shot 2013-01-18 at 9.15.16 PM

3 Responses to “Wrap V-Day Gifts with Garbage! (kinda)”

  1. eclecticlamb February 13, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    The TJ bag looks great as wrapping paper!

    • bluebinbarbie February 13, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      I did TJ’s bags at Christmas too for small gifts. Sometimes their seasonal printed bags just work out perfectly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To: Newspaper Giftwrap!!! | eat. pray. dance. - February 15, 2013

    […] Wrap V-Day Gifts with Garbage! (kinda) (willhikeforfood.wordpress.com) […]

What do you think?

