Eat: Award-Winning Coconut Mango “Nice” Cream

25 Mar

cream
OK, it hasn’t won any awards yet, but it could.

Yesterday as Hardtack devoured this homemade treat, HE was the one to say this recipe deserved a blog post.  Sometimes, my concoctions turn out average, or “edible”. On rare occasions, I really hit a home run. I think this is one of them, especially if you are in search of a treat that is:

dairy free & vegan • low glycemic index • fresh & unprocessed • seriously delish

Before I jump into the recipe…I have been experimenting a lot lately with a very particular list of ingredients that are part of the Recipes for Repair anti-inflammatory diet. A big part of the diet is keeping your food intake gluten free and low, low sugar (low glycemic if at all), unprocessed and fresh. So needless to say, we have been lacking good treats. This recipe was a Race Day experiment (HT watches NASCAR—I cook) that ultimately earned a culinary victory lap.

Coconut Mango “Nice” Cream

Makes 2 generous servings (3-4 smaller portions)

Ingredients

1 1/2 small cans light organic coconut milk, separated
1 Tbsp. organic vanilla extract
1 Tbsp organic agave nectar
1 Tbsp organic maple syrup
8 oz. frozen organic mango
1/2 tsp sea salt, plus a pinch (trust me.)
 
 
I’m a big fan of the VitaMix so I use it for just about everything…if you have an ice cream maker this whole thing could become EVEN easier.

IMG_2102

Pour about half a can of coconut milk into the blender with vanilla, agave, maple syrup and sea salt. Blend until thoroughly smooth and pourable. My approach was to slowly add more coconut milk while blending until I had used one can total (you’re reserving the other half can for later). Taste the concoction now to see what it’s missing for you. You may need to adjust the sweetness by adding more agave or syrup if your mangoes are not as sweet, or you may like more vanilla flavor, etc.

EggCarton2

Here’s where I got creative. I really didn’t want to make a smoothie, I wanted ICE CREAM—or Nice Cream, I’m calling it…and HT didn’t have ice cube trays. So I pulled an extra egg carton from the (clean) recycling and poured the blender mixture into 12 wells of the carton. I stuck this in the freezer for two hours and the mixture froze solid.

I ran hot water over the bottom of the carton so the smoothie “cubes” would pop out easily and put all of them back into the blender. Then I blended the cubes on the “frozen dessert” or middle speed setting, slowly adding the remaining 1/2 can of coconut milk until the mixture reached the “nice cream” consistency I was seeking. It took a bit of stirring and re-blending, but my ultimate texture was firm enough to scoop with an ice cream scoop, which is exciting when you are craving REAL ice cream.

I served it up with a few fresh raspberries on top and HT was more than happy to be my guinea pig, as always. The flavor is a bit like a pina colada—you could easily make it with pineapple in place of mango if you wanted to go that route. The base could be used for a million other fruit flavor options, and probably some chocolate and nutty versions would be amazing too.

Bottom line, it’s fresh, real food AND it satisfies true treat lovers. Can’t complain!

Screen Shot 2013-01-18 at 9.15.16 PM

What do you think?

